Blog

Tuesday, July 26, 2022

Paying the collegeTuition payments made directly to a college aren't considered taxable gifts, no matter how large the payment. But this is true only for tuition, not room and board, books, or fees.As the cost of a college education...

Tuesday, July 19, 2022

In golf, as in finances, there are a few rules of thumb that may improve your game: keep a level head, avoid traps, practice before trying something new and stay the course. Applying lessons from the golf course to your financial life...

Tuesday, July 12, 2022

A successful investor maximizes gain and minimizes loss. Though there can be no guarantee that any investment strategy will be successful and all investing involves risk, including the possible loss of principal, here are six basic...

Tuesday, July 5, 2022

All investing involves risk, including the possible loss of principal, and there can be no assurance that any investment strategy will be successful. And asset allocation and diversification alone cannot guarantee a profit or eliminate...

Tuesday, June 28, 2022

When it comes to investing, having fewer investments might help streamline your portfolio to manage stress better. Here are some benefits of a simple portfolio and some ways to help you create one.The Benefits of SimplicityUnless you...

Show All

Tuesday, June 21, 2022

For more than 200 years, long before the advent of modern stock markets and electronic trading, some investors have been committed to socially-responsible (SRI) investing.1 This involves choosing companies and products that...

Wednesday, June 15, 2022

What is it?Caring for your aging parents is something you hope you can handle when the time comes, but something you probably hope you never have to do. Caring for your aging parents means helping them plan for the future, and this can...

Wednesday, June 8, 2022

Working towards financial independence can often be a lifelong process. But for many, financial freedom may come far sooner—and include some fun along the way. What are the differences between financial independence and financial...

Tuesday, May 31, 2022

When you prepare to have your first child, the to-do list may seem endless—from purchasing a car seat to furnishing a nursery, lining up day care options, and planning for time off from work. These tasks, while sometimes...

Tuesday, May 24, 2022

What is it? Marriage is an important step in anyone's life and brings many challenges with it. One of those challenges is the management of your finances as a couple. The money decisions that you make now as a couple can have a lasting...

Tuesday, May 17, 2022

A life insurance policy is part of financial planning. Life insurance is there to help ease the financial trauma that comes with the loss of a spouse, parent, or partner. As you encounter different events in your life, you may need to...

Tuesday, May 10, 2022

If you have always thought estate planning was just for those nearing retirement or already retired, think again. If you own a home, it is important to have a plan in place. Without a will or other arrangements that allow your home to...

Tuesday, April 26, 2022

Perhaps you are self-employed or own a small business. Or, you may be directly involved in running a corporation or a tax-exempt organization.

Tuesday, April 19, 2022

According to the College Board, the most recently published figures of the average annual cost of tuition and fees at a public university for a school year was $9,970 for in-state students and $25,620 for out-of-state students.

Tuesday, April 12, 2022

If you own a business and want to diversify your assets by investing in stocks, today’s online brokerages make trading fairly easy. However, stock investing is risky, especially in a volatile market.

Tuesday, April 5, 2022

The concept of the “traditional” American family is continually changing. The dual-income family—with both spouses maintaining separate careers and contributing to the financial success of the household—has now become commonplace.

Tuesday, March 29, 2022

Tuesday, March 22, 2022

Tuesday, March 15, 2022

Tuesday, March 8, 2022

Thursday, March 3, 2022

Tuesday, February 22, 2022

Tuesday, February 15, 2022

Tuesday, February 8, 2022

Tuesday, February 8, 2022

Thursday, February 3, 2022

Tuesday, February 1, 2022

Tuesday, February 1, 2022

Thursday, January 20, 2022

Monday, January 17, 2022

Wednesday, January 12, 2022

Thursday, January 6, 2022

Wednesday, January 5, 2022

Wednesday, December 29, 2021

Wednesday, December 22, 2021

Tuesday, December 14, 2021

You may know that your small business needs a written business plan—but how do you get started? What elements should your plan address, and do you need different plans for different audiences? Below we discuss a few of the key...

Tuesday, December 7, 2021

Regardless of size, companies can benefit when the community in which they do business thrives. For entrepreneurs, giving back to the community may be more than just a charitable act; it can also make good business sense. If you have...

Tuesday, November 30, 2021

Environmental, Social and Governance Investing Basics Responsible investing is widely understood as the integration of environmental, social and governance factors – hence the ESG acronym – into investment processes and...

Tuesday, November 23, 2021

With the holidays here, now is the time to get into the giving spirit and help to change others' lives for the better. Whether you are looking to make a difference in a specific person's life or the life of many, there are many ways to...